Well, let's just say it was hard... but totally worth it.
It gave me something to think about, people in Africa (even in America) mostly eat without food for days even weeks. i don't know how they can do it. it's hard even drinking TONS of juice and i mean TONS. and starving people aometimes don't even have juice or any other drink.
While, before, and after the 30 hour famine my youth group and i raised money for children in Africa. We played a "survial" game in which you got a card and it told you what tribe you were from, what "disese" you had, and then you had to play an intire game without using a part of your body. i lost my foot, so i had to hop around on one single foot through the whole game. that was hard. and on the card it told a story of a child that had the same "diesese" has you. it hurt to find out that a little girl that was 7 years old had lost a leg because she drank "uncooked" water.
25,000 kids ages 5 and under die everyday from poverty, hunger, and disease. 14,000 kids die from hunger alone everyday. Every seven seconds, another child dies from hunger.
I'm very glad i did the 30 hour famine.
<3,
Sami
No comments:
Post a Comment